defect rangeman, please help
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: defect rangeman, please help

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    1

    defect rangeman, please help

    hi there,
    brand new in this forum, just got this rangeman and seeking for help.
    found some dead spots on the display, when i pressed the left upper button, and when i m in the baro mode. see the attached pics.
    Is this defected or..?
    greatly appreciate for any input , thanks~
    Attached Images Attached Images






  2. #2
    Moderator G-Shock Forum
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,801

    Re: defect rangeman, please help

    for me it looks like the baro graph with the first 2/3 out of range and not visible.
    The LCD seems fine since the day display on the other photo is OK.
    Between 2 pics even there is one dot added to the graph (on the right)

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    77

    Re: defect rangeman, please help

    My Mudman does the same thing in the eye of the compass/second graph. I never could figure out what the purpose is. Doesn't seem to be any logic there. You're watch is not faulty. Some where there is a reason, only Casio knows. OR is there anybody out there???? That knows?? SPEAK!

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    68

    Re: defect rangeman, please help

    d2mac is absolutely right, rest easy OP your watch is functioning as designed. It's just due to the small y-axis range of the barometer trend graph. For pretty much all of these trend graphs, both Gs and ProTreks, the y-axis only covers 8-10 hPa of pressure change (1 pixel = 1 hPa). If the weather changes quickly (or you change elevation quickly) the past pressure trend is beyond the vertical scale limits. Take a three hour drive from the coast to the mountains and you'll see just a single pressure dot in the lower right, signifying the recent pressure values were all much higher than the current pressure. Take a three hour drive from the mountains to the coast and you'll see just a single pressure dot in the upper right, signifying the recent pressure values were all much lower than the current pressure.
    GaryK30 and cypress8 like this.

  6. #5
    Member Subafan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Here, there and everywhere
    Posts
    173

    Re: defect rangeman, please help

    Why don't you carefully read the manual first?
    partalos likes this.

  7. #6
    Member domoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    1,560

    Re: defect rangeman, please help

    the white dots? it's graphic for barometer trend xD
    i assume u just got it out of the box. either the reading before out of range as d2mac said or maybe because it was in PS mode? i can'r recall if the sensor still active or not during PS's hibernate. maybe other members can chime in.
    Anyway, nice Rangeman, enjoy it :D

  8. #7
    Member GaryK30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,860

    Re: defect rangeman, please help

    On most G-Shocks, you can initiate a display test by pressing the Bottom Left, Bottom Right & Top Left buttons simultaneously. Pressing the Bottom Right button will scroll through the various display test screens then escape.

    I don't have a Rangeman, but this works on all of my digital G-Shocks.

    BTW, based on what I see, I don't think there is anything wrong with the display on your Rangeman, as others in this thread have indicated.

  9. #8
    Member Cobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Sydney Oz
    Posts
    12,405

    Re: defect rangeman, please help

    If you are talking about the 5 and 4 dots in the barometer, its a barometer reading !!

    Sometimes only a few dots appear sometimes a whole lot more depending on where you are located.

    cheers



  10. #9
    Member Everdying's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Anfield
    Posts
    2,142

    Re: defect rangeman, please help

    Quote Originally Posted by domoon View Post
    the white dots? it's graphic for barometer trend xD
    i assume u just got it out of the box. either the reading before out of range as d2mac said or maybe because it was in PS mode? i can'r recall if the sensor still active or not during PS's hibernate. maybe other members can chime in.
    Anyway, nice Rangeman, enjoy it :D
    yes, the barometer still works in PS mode.

  11. #10
    Member Tetsu Tekubi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Brisbane, AU
    Posts
    5,822

    Re: defect rangeman, please help

    change the setting so it displays the day instead, if its actually dead pixels then parts of the day wont be shown

    actually ...no youre right, its defective but i'll reluctantly take it off your hands for $100
    CK89101 likes this.
    the aritst formerly known as soulbridgemedia
    Whoisdisdointhissynthe tictypeofalphabetapsychedelicfunkin


    IG: soulbridge_media
    IG: thegcollective

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Rangeman proposition: make a positive green Rangeman!
      By yankeexpress in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 137
      Last Post: November 11th, 2018, 19:42
    2. Replies: 19
      Last Post: August 10th, 2015, 05:18
    3. Replies: 16
      Last Post: October 15th, 2014, 02:38
    4. Replies: 8
      Last Post: January 13th, 2010, 04:09

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •