disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Sedi

Thread: disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member a158w's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    447

    Question disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?

    hello everybody


    I wondered...

    ...is anyone can tell me if it is possible to disable the atomic calibration signal reception on the GW-3000 (module 5121) ?

    I read the manual, and search on the internet and did not find anything !


    thanks a lot for your help !


    have a great and quiet day !
    https://www.instagram.com/luigirofart/


    Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads...

  2. #2
    Member captain kid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Groningen NL
    Posts
    1,144

    Re: disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?

    I'm looking at the manual now and there doesn't seem to be a way to disable auto receive.
    However, you could change your Home city to anything other then London, Paris or Athens so the watch will try to receive a signal from Japan, China or the USA.
    Which it obviously can't if you're in France.

    Out of curiosity; why do you want to disable auto receive?

    edit
    another option is to put it in stopwatch mode when you sleep. apparently the watch does not do auto receive when in stopwatch mode. (page 6 manual)
    Last edited by captain kid; October 21st, 2013 at 02:33.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    381

    Re: disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by captain kid View Post

    Out of curiosity; why do you want to disable auto receive?
    I'm going to guess he lives near the border of 2 time zones, which causes the watch to change times several times per day.


    Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk 4

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member Sedi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Bamberg, Germany
    Posts
    13,980

    Re: disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by KneeDragr View Post
    I'm going to guess he lives near the border of 2 time zones, which causes the watch to change times several times per day.
    This can't happen as the signal from the atomic tower only sends out UTC - you have to set the UTC offset manually. The watch doesn't "know" where it is if it's not a GPS-watch.

    cheers, Sedi
    MCZK likes this.
    Cheers
    Sedi

  6. #5
    Member civic98's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Langkawi, Malaysia
    Posts
    396

    Re: disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?

    I had to disable mine to save battery since we do not have reception here in Malaysia. It's ON/OFF/AUTO on the Rangeman though.

  7. #6
    Member Macteabird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    75

    Re: disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?

    On my GW330A, I can set the auto receive to OFF, no worries.
    2688 Casio G-Shock GW330A
    4369 Casio Edifice Chronograph EF-508D-2AV
    3134 Casio Pathfinder PAW1500T-7V
    5121 Casio G-Shock Aviation GW3000B-1A 'Go Giants'
    3410 Casio G-Shock Rangeman GW9400-1
    3261 Casio G-Shock mudman G9300-1

  8. #7
    Member a158w's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    447

    Re: disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by captain kid View Post
    Out of curiosity; why do you want to disable auto receive?

    thanks guys


    well, my apartment acts as a Faraday cage so that I did not pick out the signal everytime....and given the fact that the watch deviates very little each month, I want to avoid leaving the watch make multiple attempts each night which consumes a lot of energy ..

    I find it unfortunate that we can not simply turn off the reception as i can do with my riseman

    I hope to be clear because my English is not very good ...
    https://www.instagram.com/luigirofart/


    Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads...

  9. #8
    Member carpoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    USA-Maryland
    Posts
    1,059

    Re: disable atomic signal reception on GW-3000 ?

    I think it's automatically disabled if you choose a time zone where there is no signal, such as Alaska/Hawaii.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •