Display fault question on my DW003

Thread: Display fault question on my DW003

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    65

    Display fault question on my DW003

    Hi,
    Just fitted a battery to an old pale yellow DW003 thats been dead in a draw for a while now. While reseting the date i noticed that a couple of the sections aren't working (sure they used to) - any way of 'kick starting' them or is that it for the old girl?

    Thanks
    Toby

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    986

    Re: Display fault question on my DW003

    Hello,

    Did you stick a paperclip from the area near the battery marked AC (all Clear) and short the other end to a part of the module with metal? This resets it

    Cheers
    Leon

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    65

    Re: Display fault question on my DW003

    Quote Originally Posted by Leon Eckell View Post
    Hello,

    Did you stick a paperclip from the area near the battery marked AC (all Clear) and short the other end to a part of the module with metal? This resets it

    Cheers
    Leon
    I didn't do this first and then read the excellent battery change post in this forum. Done this a few times and not made any difference - perhaps I should try a few more times?

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member Lexxorcist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,619

    Re: Display fault question on my DW003

    Quote Originally Posted by tobyd View Post
    I didn't do this first and then read the excellent battery change post in this forum. Done this a few times and not made any difference - perhaps I should try a few more times?
    Are you doing it for long enough? It didn't work the first time I tried it, but holding the wire (or whatever you're using) in place for several seconds did the trick.
    "The future is something which everyone reaches at the rate of sixty minutes an hour, whatever he does, whoever he is." C S Lewis

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    65

    Re: Display fault question on my DW003

    Quote Originally Posted by Lexxorcist View Post
    Are you doing it for long enough? It didn't work the first time I tried it, but holding the wire (or whatever you're using) in place for several seconds did the trick.
    Thanks for the reply.
    I'll give it a go holding it for longer - any other ways of testing to see if the displays bust?

    Toby.
    PS still looking for that 8600 Fisherman bezel.

  7. #6
    Member Lexxorcist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,619

    Re: Display fault question on my DW003

    Quote Originally Posted by tobyd View Post
    Thanks for the reply.
    I'll give it a go holding it for longer - any other ways of testing to see if the displays bust?
    I can't think of any, other than physical damage. One of the more knowledgable members might have ideas, but for now I'd try resetting it again, shorting it for longer, and making sure your wire is properly making contact at both ends.

    A photo of the faulty display might help someone diagnose your problem easier too.
    "The future is something which everyone reaches at the rate of sixty minutes an hour, whatever he does, whoever he is." C S Lewis

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Chitown, IL
    Posts
    5,741

    Re: Display fault question on my DW003

    Sometimes I have had the same trouble. Take the battery out for a few hours and then try again. Sometimes it's tough to reset the battery though, even though it seems like you're doing the same thing as before, and then - poof - it works!

    My thought is that if part of the display goes on, then it will eventually work.

    Neil

  9. #8
    Member Buzzbait's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Upstate New York, USA
    Posts
    4,076

    Re: Display fault question on my DW003

    Can you describe which sections aren't working?

    If you wish to test the display, trying pressing the upper-left, lower-left, and lower-right buttons simultaneously. In many G-Shocks, this will temporarily activate all of the portions of the LCD.

  10. #9
    TTT
    TTT is offline
    Member TTT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,555

    Re: Display fault question on my DW003

    Did the old battery leak?

  11. #10
    Member GameBoy2Go's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,283

    Re: Display fault question on my DW003

    could you post a picture, I have the same problem too.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •