WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

G-Shock DW-5600E for Police Work

11K views 29 replies 19 participants last post by  Ronin226 
#1 · (Edited)
I've just joined this forum, but I've been a G-Shock wearer since 2000. I just got a DW-5600E for work because the old Timex I had died. I had been using my cell phone for a watch at work, not a good idea! I work as a patrol officer in a large city on swing shift. I just wanted to share some of my feedback about this watch in a police work environment.

The small low profile size is great for fitting under long sleeve uniforms and jackets. It also reduces the chance of it getting snagged or accidentally torn off in a struggle. The buttons are properly recessed so they aren't activated inadvertently.

The available functions are all I ever need on the job. 24 hour clock, well we use 24 hour time so there it is. Stop watch with current time shown, I have to use the stop watch to time DUI tests and I can still see the time without scrolling back and forth. This is an awesome, over looked detail about this watch, being able to see the time in any mode! Timer, I set this at 40 minutes for my 40 minute lunch break. Once the alarm goes off it resets to 40 minutes, that saves me the time of having to reset the timer every day. Alarm, haven't had a use for the alarm at work yet, but its an alarm.. self explainatory.

The display is easy to read, even using ambient light at night. If its pitch black the electro luminescent backlight is excellent. I've seen officers using their cellphones to check the time on perimeters at night and it lights of their face.

I received this watch as a gift, but its under $50 at most stores. An excellent price for such a good functional watch, cheap enough that if it were destroyed or lost I wouldn't suffer from depression... I could just roll to Walmart and grab another.

Anyone else care to share their experience with this watch on the job?

See less See more
#2 ·