A G-Shock Newbie! What do I need?

Thread: A G-Shock Newbie! What do I need?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

A G-Shock Newbie! What do I need?

So goy easy on me guys... I'm a newbie!

I've always had Luminox and they've served me well...

I'm heading to work a winter in the french alps this december (I'm an Aussie living in London)

So I'm looking for a G-Shock... I like the look of the GW-M5600 and also the Mudman series...

It'll probably take a beating on the slopes and be in some cold conditions.

A few questions tho.. How well are the solar power cells? do they work ok? hold their charge?

And with the sync watches... will they sync anywhere in the world? and what happens if your out of a sync area?

Anyways, any help will be appreciated! but go easy on me if my questions are dumb!!!!

:thanks

Oh I should have also added when returning back to Australia next year i'll either be in law enforcement or armed forces so it'll need to hold up!
    Last edited by Ctrain; September 8th, 2009 at 14:20.

Re: A G-Shock Newbie! What do I need?

Definitely a good choice on the GW-M5600. I highly recommend it, and it's also has the great classic look of the 5600s.

Good luck, and welcome to WUS!

The solar power cells have worked great for me...but I havn't had one for long. Safe to say you should get years out of it.

For working in the alps, the new Riseman might be cool - GW-9200. Its solar atomic and has an altimeter on it.

Muddys are great watches too.

Any G you pick should take just as much punishment as you dish out.

Regarding the time sync, I believe it will almost certainly do so in Switzerland especially at altitude. The new 5 and 6 band modules receive the signal from UK, Germany, USA (where coverage extends) and Japan (two towers). The 6 band also receives in or near China - there are places which don't pick up any signal but Europe should be pretty much full coverage subject to local (line of sight or whatever) and atmospheric conditions.