G9000 or the G2300

Thread: G9000 or the G2300

G9000 or the G2300

I will admit it I am a noob to this forum (great place though) I currently have a PAG80 Pathfinder and like it alot but the extras (compass, baro, alti, etc) don't seem to be that exact. So I am looking at getting a new G-Shock. I really like the classic look of these 2 models, but would like some input from the wisdom on this site. Pro's and Con's to those models or recommend a different model.

Other than the solar feature is there really any difference?

Is the solar all it is built up to be?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to your response. Thank you

CMOWE (Central Madhouse Of Western Europe)

Re: G9000 or the G2300

G-2300 hands down, without even think about it. the G-9000 mudman is a good watch, with nice features but it just can't old up with the G-2300/2310.

the ML2016 solar battery is a huge advantage on the G-2300, so is the countdown timer which can be set to the second. it also shows time, day, date and year all at once while the G-9000 does not. I personally also dislike the stiff buttons on the mudman, I know they serve a purpose, but as far as I'm concerned the G-2300 is as mudproof as well. for me the G-2300 is the best G-shock made to date, I would not trade it for any other watch when it comes down to a pure beating up watch designed for hardest duties.

but to be fair, there are two advantages the G-9000 offers over the G-2300:

1. the legibility of the display and digits is WAY better (much clearer)

2. the watch shows current time in countdown mode (not of much interest for me, but maybe others)

regards, holger
    Last edited by cal..45; August 30th, 2007 at 08:34.