Help me understand the fever...

Thread: Help me understand the fever...

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Confused Help me understand the fever...

I'm new to watch collecting in general, and learning much by exploring the various WUS boards since I joined two months ago. While I've really ooohed and aaahed over something in each of the different brands, I've been having a hard time understanding the fever that all of the G-shock fanatics have .

My first watch in junior high school (too many years ago) was a digital Casio, but I thought I left that world far behind when I moved then to my first analog (Swiss Army) and I haven't looked back to digital since then. Some of the analog or digi-analog G's have been mildly interesting to me, but I'm still not feeling the fever that all of you have.

I'm not trying to troll here... I'm genuinely mystified by how enthusiastic and dedicated the folks on this forum are about their favorite G-shocks. Can you help me to peek into your world, and understand why I should be just as excited as you are about G-shocks?

(And I've tried to do a search to find a good thread that helps me understand the avid attraction-- probably not using the right search terms...).

Re: Help me understand the fever...

Hoo boy, where do I begin?

There's the technology involved, primarily in protecting the mechanism while incorporating various innovative features. There's variety, with practically a G-Shock for every taste and price point. There's branding, with images of athletes, artists and even the armed services validating the well-deserved "shock resistant" claim. Someone else can come along and elaborate better.