how to dye the G letter ? please help
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By babola

Thread: how to dye the G letter ? please help

how to dye the G letter ? please help

I would like to know if there is a simple way of making a slight change on my G7710 : dye in black the yellow G letter of the light button.
    I've got no experience at all at this stuff, maybe someone can explain me how it is usually done.
    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: how to dye the G letter ? please help

It isn't that hard, but some ground rules should be followed. Since you are about to cover the lighter colored letter with darker paint, it's best to leave the letter as is and not going thru existing paint removal process, just cover the existing one with black paint.

I use enamel model paint (Tamiya, Humbrol, Testors...any of them should do just fine), and stay away from acrylic ones whenever possible for this type of work.

See if you can find some standard enamel paint thinner, or pick the one from the model shop where you get the model paint from. I mostly use Tamiya enamel paint brand and Tamiya enamel thinner.

Whatever you decide, DO NOT use the nail polish remover of either acetone or non-acetone kind. This will almost certainly destroy the light button as it's made of plastic, not the same resin material used for band and bezel.

Now apply the thin layer (1st coat) of black paint on top of the LE button. Don't worry about smearing, it's suppose to be like that, you will remove it later.
    Make sure the paint is thinned enough so it doesn't create thick layer that would be hard to remove later without affecting the paint inside the letter groove. Wait for about 1-2 hours for the first coat to dry off. Repaint with second coat. Wait for about 1 hour to dry off. I normaly remove the watch from the area where dust may settle on top of the paint. I just put it in a drawer for about an hour or so.