How my G-2310 died...what's your story?

Thread: How my G-2310 died...what's your story?

How my G-2310 died...what's your story?

Not sure where to begin, but I'm a chemistry teacher and my students found out that I've been a g-shock fanatic. I told them how I used to throw my DW-5200 against walls, the ground, etc. (in my youth) trying to break it - to no avail. I also mentioned a few other torture tests that have been documented.

Well, as you can imagine, they started after me to bring a g-shock for them to try to break. I have an old DW-8040 that needed a new battery. I kept meaning to put a new battery and bring that in. Well, that never happened - and I also didn't want the resin to break - so I brought in my painting and wake up alarm g-shock - a G-2310. Great watch that's been around the world with me. I honestly didn't think it'd break either.

So, they first dropped about 10 science books on it, from about 4 feet in the air. One side of the strap popped off, but all functions intact.

Next they took it to a stairwell, and threw it down. Still, I had confidence in my G. Well, the student really whipped it down on some stairs, and the weakest part of the watch - the screws on the backplate - gave way. The head of the screws sheered off. Unfortunately, there's really no way to get the screws out. Still I tried prying the bezel off and part of the module chipped away.

Pic of the sheered screws:

My now empty G

I can certainly save the parts, maybe find a donor G-2310... I'm not really upset, but I am surprised.

Any interesting ways your G's have met their end?
    Neil

near Manhattan... Status: Changing course, hard about

Re: How my G-2310 died...what's your story?

This is a perfect example of why a screw caseback G-Shock is stronger than a 4-screw caseback. I'd never considered how the screw heads could get sheared off like that. Pretty wild.