My experience with the Rangeman…mini review. Pic Heavy!
Like Tree56Likes

Thread: My experience with the Rangeman…mini review. Pic Heavy!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

My experience with the Rangeman…mini review. Pic Heavy!

I'm sure this watch has been reviewed to death so I will skip any overly technical banter..I'm not that technical anyway. This is just a quick overview of what I think of the Rangeman after using it in the field over the past month.

I started out on WUS with a heavy focus on G-Shocks and Pathfinders. I've had most of them at one point in time. The squares, 6900, Riseman, mudman, gulfman, king, frogman GW-1000, and most all variations of the pathfinder. I ended up selling most of them and sticking with a GW-5000 and GW-6900 for the past several years. When the Rangeman came out a couple of years ago, I decided to look the other way, despite being pretty excited that they finally made an ABC G-Shock. I just feared it would be too big, and that it would look a little too sci-fi for my aging tastes. I didn't even look at any pictures to tempt myself.

Fast forward to now. I just moved to close proximity to some really good hiking, including the Appalachian trail out here in Northern Virginia. Having the ability to hike on a regular basis really got the "gear junkie" in me all excited. Even though I wrote off most of ABC functionality to be "gimmicky", I decided to have another look at Casio's new lineup. What's this? New sensors? More accurate and responsive? Hmmm. My interest was certainly aroused. Suunto always seemed to have the upper hand for sensor quality and reliability, but I could never get on board with the 6 month battery change thing and it's lack of water resistance though. So, I decided to give the Rangeman a closer look. I really liked the other reviews I read regarding the quality, and more importantly, the size. I loved the pics and thought it just might work on my wrist. I had to give it a shot.