My first G-Shock (and a good bye to Pathfinder)

Thread: My first G-Shock (and a good bye to Pathfinder)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

My first G-Shock (and a good bye to Pathfinder)

Greetings fellow Casio enthusiasts,

I've been wearing Casio watches for many years now, beginning with the now ancient PRT-40, over to a PRG-40 and a PRW-1300, and a couple others that I no longer remember

However, recently I came to the conclusion that I really don't use any of the Pathfinder features, and here is why:

The Barometer: I have no idea what I could possible use this for.

The Altimeter: Calculated by the barometer data, 5m scale, useless for extended trips or during weather changes.

The Thermometer: Measures the temperature of your wrist just fine. Too bad this temperature has nothing whatsoever to do with the actual temperature in your environment. Removing the watch and let it adjust for 30 minutes? I don't think so...

The Compass: Works, ok I guess. Never needed it tho.

The only things I actually do use my watch for were the multiple daily alarms, the countdown timer and the stopwatch. Well, I can get that for a lot less money with any recent G-Shock

So when I decided I needed a new "tough" watch for work, I went ahead and ordered myself my very first G-Shock: A Mudman G-9000-1VER, the version without "Tough Solar".

Quite a bargain at ~$100 with shipping, compared to the $300 to $500 Pathfinder monsters.

I really don't think that I will ever buy another Pathfinder/Protrek again.

Re: My first G-Shock (and a good bye to Pathfinder)

Congratulations on your first G-Shock.The Mudman's a great choice for it too. Basic but tough as nails, can't beat it. Enjoy...

Welcome to the world of G-Shocks.