My watch's backlight is not working after changing the battery
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: My watch's backlight is not working after changing the battery

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

My watch's backlight is not working after changing the battery

Hi folks, this is my first time around here. I have a problem with my G-Shock. It is not any amazing model, but it has memorial meaning to me because it is my 21st yr old birthday gift from my dad.

Its battery was dead around 6 months ago, and i only have the time to bring it to a watch repairman to change the battery for me. I didnt change it myself because I am not willing to take the risk since i have never dismantle a watch before.

The battery change cost me ard US$6. But when i took the watch over and gave it a check. I realised that the backlight is not working anymore! I question the repairman why is that so, because i am pretty sure the light was working 6 months before the battery went flat.
    He claims that my watch is old, its normal that the backlight is spoilt now... :(

I am not really believe that, but i have no choice because he doesnt look like he can do anything to get the light back for me.

Ok, the purpose of this thread. I am curious if any experts here can guide me how i may be able to revive the backlight???

Thanks all dearly.

Re: My watch's backlight is not working after changing the battery

What model is it and how old?
    I used to list my watches here until I realised it ruined people's Google searches...

Quote Originally Posted by tribe125 View Post
    What model is it and how old?
    Sorry, i am really no G Shock fan. Can u guide me how do i check for the model???

It should be close to 10yrs old

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

The model number will be on the back. Something like 'DW-5600E', 'G-2300' etc.

The failure rate of EL backlights is low, but it does happen. The older models with a little bulb are more likely to fail.