Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset
Like Tree25Likes

Thread: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    TO
    Posts
    2,265

    Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    Hoping someone who has experienced this problem can help me. I was in the pool with the frogman and when I switched from stopwatch mode to dive mode, the display showed a depth of 3.2m when I was above water. I must've screwed something up when I was switching between mode as I was getting out from under the water. I checked the manual and googled for help but nothing came up. The manual says that reset to 0m only works if the display shows a depth of 1.4m or less.

    I've attached a photo to show you the my frogman's display while in dive mode.

    Any has experienced this and know how to fix it? Thanks !




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Member hoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    I-Hop Pancake House
    Posts
    941

    Re: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    I think that you may have a faulty module.

  3. #3
    Member GaryK30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,845

    Re: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    See this section of the manual about a negative depth reading, which matches your display pic above ("exclamation point" on the display).

    Name:  GWF-D1000 (3445) Negative depth reading.JPG
Views: 172
Size:  72.4 KB

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    TO
    Posts
    2,265

    Re: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    Quote Originally Posted by GaryK30 View Post
    See this section of the manual about a negative depth reading, which matches your display pic above ("exclamation point" on the display).

    Name:  GWF-D1000 (3445) Negative depth reading.JPG
Views: 172
Size:  72.4 KB
    Thanks. I tried that before posting but it didn't work. Looks like I'm going to have to get this fixed before the warranty runs out. Kinda ironic that a watch designed for tough conditions would malfunction that easily without taking as much as a bump.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #5
    Member Time4Playnow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    7,484

    Re: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    Quote Originally Posted by BaCaitlin View Post
    Thanks. I tried that before posting but it didn't work. Looks like I'm going to have to get this fixed before the warranty runs out. Kinda ironic that a watch designed for tough conditions would malfunction that easily without taking as much as a bump.

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    So you went back to timekeeping mode, then entered Dive Mode again and the depth meter did not reset to zero?

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    TO
    Posts
    2,265

    Re: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    Quote Originally Posted by Time4Playnow View Post
    So you went back to timekeeping mode, then entered Dive Mode again and the depth meter did not reset to zero?
    Yeah. Many times. The depth gauge seems to be stuck at 3.2m. Every other function still works flawlessly. The depth meter still works but it starts measuring at 3.2m and it assumes that you're underwater as soon as you enter dive mode. So the time measuring time spent underwater starts immediately when dive mode is entered.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Time4Playnow likes this.

  8. #7
    Member Time4Playnow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    7,484

    Re: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    Quote Originally Posted by BaCaitlin View Post
    Yeah. Many times. The depth gauge seems to be stuck at 3.2m. Every other function still works flawlessly. The depth meter still works but it starts measuring at 3.2m and it assumes that you're underwater as soon as you enter dive mode. So the time measuring time spent underwater starts immediately when dive mode is entered.
    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Well, if I were you I'd call Casio first before sending it back for service. It sounds like all it really needs is the "3.2m" reset to zero. Perhaps a Casio tech knows a trick to reset that & they could talk you thru it over the phone?
    BaCaitlin and GaryK30 like this.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    TO
    Posts
    2,265

    Re: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    Quote Originally Posted by Time4Playnow View Post
    Well, if I were you I'd call Casio first before sending it back for service. It sounds like all it really needs is the "3.2m" reset to zero. Perhaps a Casio tech knows a trick to reset that & they could talk you thru it over the phone?
    Good suggestion. I'll see if the manual has a number that I can call and find out. I'll try their website as well.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Member WES51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California
    Posts
    1,999

    Re: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    EDIT: I posted a suggestion here, but then realized that I got it totally wrong and deleted my suggestion.

    SORRY !!!
    Last edited by WES51; October 1st, 2017 at 22:47.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,189

    Re: Need help - Frogman Depth Sensor Won't Reset

    Maybe there's something stuck in the sensor itself?(in the holes)

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 4
      Last Post: October 21st, 2013, 18:41
    2. Replies: 4
      Last Post: January 28th, 2011, 22:00
    3. Help! Now my quartz chrono won't reset to zero!
      By theimitator in forum Seiko
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: July 9th, 2008, 17:44
    4. Replies: 4
      Last Post: December 9th, 2007, 17:03
    5. Replies: 0
      Last Post: December 8th, 2007, 02:09

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •