Need help w/ first G-Shock purchase (5600 model)
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Need help w/ first G-Shock purchase (5600 model)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Banned

Need help w/ first G-Shock purchase (5600 model)

Hey G-Shock enthusiasts,
    I've decided to purchase my first G-Shock as an everyday casual watch and have narrowed my choice down to the DW-5600E and GW-M5610-1.
    Do you guys think the Solar/Atomic option is worth the extra $50? I understand its ultimately up to me to decide if its worth the extra, but I'm new to G-Shocks so i would like some feedback from others.
    Any help or opinions are welcomed. Thank you!

Picture for reference: DW-5600E ($41) vs. GW-M5610-1 ($91)
    Name:  gwm56001er2.jpg
Views: 369
Size:  169.4 KB

Re: Need help w/ first G-Shock purchase (5600 model)

I like solar in part because when you change the battery on a water resistant watch, the person who does the change usually says they cannot guarantee that the watch remains water resistant. Perhaps different if Casio does the battery change. Also no need to take it in for a change (understanding that the solar battery will likely wear out at some point).

If if you are in a region where you can get radio time signals, I like the fact that the watch synchs (and my RC G Shocks synch almost every night in St Paul MN). Time is more accurate this way. However, given the accuracy of Casio Quartz watches, usually better than their 15 seconds per month specs in my experience, this may be of limited practical use. It does automatically change for daylight savings.

Solar and time sync is a must, pay it!

Watches: G-Shock Rangeman GW-9400 - Mudmaster GWG-1000
    The best Casio G-Shock is the next one...

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

I would definitely go for the upgrade if cash isn't an issue. Atomic and solar is great as is the more interesting color scheme IMO.