New to G-Shocks, and lost

Thread: New to G-Shocks, and lost

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

New to G-Shocks, and lost

Have been browsing this fora, but as a complete newby to G-Shocks, I cant get my head around the different models and ranges.

The G-shock website has helped a little, but I'm still a bit lost.

Can someone explain to me, in a nutshell, the basic different models to give me a starting point!

I like the idea of a watch with 2 time zones and also with atomic clock link, if possible, but would like to have a better overall understanding of the different ranges.

Thanks.

Re: New to G-Shocks, and lost

Very broad overview in no order :

- 'Master of G' series - presently mudman, riseman, gulfman, frogman. These are considered (by casio) to have a dedicated form & function set (mudman - sealed unit, mud resistant - for extreme outdoor sport/activity; riseman - twin sensor altimeter & barometer - for climbing/hiking; gulfman - titanium construction, some models have a tide graph - for water sport ; Frogman - ISO Diver certified, different models have different features useful for scuba).

There are many different colour morphs of each watch and some variety on function as well. Too many to list ! Most people (rightly) don't get too hung up on the 'xxxman' designatation - they're all good sport/activity watches.

'Classics' - like the 5600/5500/5000 - these are those square ones that look like pretty classic japanese digitals. Or the 6900 series - another design classic form factor. Lots of different colours, lots of different modules again.

The MT-G - which stands for Metal Twisted G - line - all metal construction.

Giez - quite a high-end luxury line - analogue or ana-dig.

The MR-G line - G-Shock prestige line - as close to dressy as they care to get.