No transmitters in current city...
Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By GaryK30
  • 1 Post By d2mac
  • 4 Post By Mike K

Thread: No transmitters in current city...

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member Rostislav Persion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Pomona, New York, United States
    Posts
    1,048

    No transmitters in current city...

    Does anyone know what happens if you set a time zone city in a location where there is no reception for multiband 6?

    Will it still try to connect? Or will it tells you that there is nothing to connect to?
    CASIO GW-M5610-1 & PULSAR PQ2011

  2. #2
    Member GaryK30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Simi Valley, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,871

    Re: No transmitters in current city...

    Quote Originally Posted by Rostislav Persion View Post
    Does anyone know what happens if you set a time zone city in a location where there is no reception for multiband 6?

    Will it still try to connect? Or will it tells you that there is nothing to connect to?
    It will not try to connect unless you select a home city that supports radio control. All of my Casio radio-controlled watches include a table showing which cities support radio control, and what transmitter(s) they try to connect to.
    idkfa likes this.

  3. #3
    Member Rostislav Persion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Pomona, New York, United States
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: No transmitters in current city...

    What if you live in a city that doesn't get reception, but the time zone city does? Or vice versa...
    CASIO GW-M5610-1 & PULSAR PQ2011

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member Rostislav Persion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Pomona, New York, United States
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: No transmitters in current city...

    Example: People who live in Florida have to set the watch to New York...
    CASIO GW-M5610-1 & PULSAR PQ2011

  6. #5
    Moderator G-Shock Forum
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,801

    Re: No transmitters in current city...

    Easy answer:
    If you set a city with radio signal and the radio signal isnt received by the watch, the watch will just work on without automatic correction.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rostislav Persion View Post
    Example: People who live in Florida have to set the watch to New York...
    HoosierTrooper likes this.

  7. #6
    Member Mike K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    5,784

    Re: No transmitters in current city...

    Quote Originally Posted by Rostislav Persion View Post
    Example: People who live in Florida have to set the watch to New York...
    This has been covered in some of your other threads already.

    Yes, people who live in Florida have to set the watch to New York. People who live all over the eastern time zone have to set the watch to New York. The transmitter is in Colorado, we don't need one per state, and the transmitter doesn't care where the watch is. If the watch is set to New York time, the watch attempts to receive the signal, adjusts it to GMT-5, adjusts for DST if necessary and that's it.

    It's the same time in New York as it is in Miami -- that's all that matters. The watch doesn't need to list every city on earth, nor do we want to have to scroll past them when we set the watch. Maybe Casio shouldn't have used city codes in the first place and just used GMT offsets instead, but that probably would have confused a lot of average people who don't normally use GMT-5 and just think of it as "eastern time."

    As far as reception by city goes: the exact city locations vary by watch, and are covered in the manual. Your watch shows 27 city codes where the watch will try to receive a signal, and the manual shows WHICH SIGNAL it will try to receive.

    The manual for that watch shows 49 city codes IN TOTAL, so if you set the watch to one of the 22 city codes where there IS NO RECEPTION, the watch won't attempt to receive. Midnight will roll around and the watch won't go into receive mode because it doesn't think there's a signal.

  8. #7
    Member RedHerringHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Chattanooga TN USA
    Posts
    553

    Re: No transmitters in current city...

    There is only one 60kHz WWVB transmitter in America. Ft Collins Colorado.

  9. #8
    Member yankeexpress's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    31,890

    Re: No transmitters in current city...

    Quote Originally Posted by RedHerringHack View Post
    There is only one 60kHz WWVB transmitter in America. Ft Collins Colorado.
    1. simplicity
    2. Cost

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Why only 6 atomic clock transmitters?
      By Rostislav Persion in forum Public Forum
      Replies: 19
      Last Post: February 24th, 2015, 23:07
    2. European Atomic Transmitters (maps and links)
      By a158w in forum Articles & Tutorials
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: October 15th, 2011, 13:16
    3. Replies: 55
      Last Post: June 27th, 2011, 19:01
    4. waveceptor transmitters, GPS timekeeping
      By h-bo in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: April 24th, 2009, 17:50
    5. Some info on atomic clocks and the transmitters...
      By PabloElFlamenco in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: July 10th, 2007, 13:25

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •