A question for any Brit atomic users...

Thread: A question for any Brit atomic users...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    942

    A question for any Brit atomic users...

    Have you ever synced to the Mainflingen transmitter instead of the Rugby one?

    I was amused to notice that for the last couple of days that my AWG-101 has been showing the wee indicator next to the 'GE77.5' mark rather than its normal 'UK60' one, telling me that rather than syncing to the Rugby transmitter (~330 miles from me here in Aberdeen) it has connected with the Maiflingen transmitter in Germany (~670 miles from me).

    While it makes absolutely no difference whatsoever in the working of my watch, it was something I would never really have expected to see while I am here, and was wandering if anyone else has had it happen too?

    If it makes any difference or is of interest to anyone, the watch normally syncs reliably, with only a few missed days that usually have obvious causes (being elsewhere that night or laeving the watch somewhere silly and RF unfriendly). The first night it connnected to Germany I was camping just outside of Aberdeen, the second was at home like normal.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lowestoft U.K
    Posts
    600

    Re: A question for any Brit atomic users...

    Yep, i've synced with the atomic clock in Maiflingen numerous of times, especially on my GW-9000 Mudman.

  3. #3
    Member dschaen81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Hessia, Germany
    Posts
    244

    Re: A question for any Brit atomic users...

    I've experienced the opposite. I live only 60 miles away from the Mainflingen transmitter, but my GW-810BD picked up the UK signal three or four times so far. I wonder how that's possible. Does the watch "look for" the UK frequency first, and when it is able to sync, it stops trying to receive the German signal?

    Best regards
    Jan

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member Micha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,445

    Re: A question for any Brit atomic users...

    Quote Originally Posted by dschaen81 View Post
    I've experienced the opposite. I live only 60 miles away from the Mainflingen transmitter, but my GW-810BD picked up the UK signal three or four times so far. I wonder how that's possible. Does the watch "look for" the UK frequency first, and when it is able to sync, it stops trying to receive the German signal?

    Best regards
    Jan
    +1 I live only 30 km from the Mainflingen signal and my Gulfman synced with the UK several times. I guess my other Gs sync with the UK as well, but they just don't show with which signal they synced
    Cheers,
    Micha

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    942

    Re: A question for any Brit atomic users...

    I always assumed that the watch just cycled through all the frequencies and picked the strongest to sync from - so obviously the UK and JP signals are too weak, and it will pick the stronger of the two available. I guess the weather at the moment must favour the signal bouncing over from Germany rather then Rugby...

  7. #6
    Member TimBisley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    U.K
    Posts
    31

    Re: A question for any Brit atomic users...

    Quote Originally Posted by senraw View Post
    Yep, i've synced with the atomic clock in Maiflingen numerous of times, especially on my GW-9000 Mudman.
    Me too.

  8. #7
    Member Luke_A_P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    240

    Re: A question for any Brit atomic users...

    My Mudman syncs with Germany regularly. IIRC within Europe the Casios try to sync with whatever transmitter worked successfully last time, then switch to the other if they don't succeed. If they get neither then they wait an hour and repeat the same process. I find this means that if the watch switches from UK to Germany then it tends to stay there for a few days or longer before switching back.


    I also have a Citizen atomic which only does Germany, it has no trouble syncing in England, but I have found that in the west of Ireland I have to put it by the window to sync.

    Luke

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    2,809

    Re: A question for any Brit atomic users...

    Not a Brit but one of their neighbours - never picked up the German signal from Ireland.

    I must be in one of the absolute best syncing locations though...every night, every watch, without fail, where ever I leave them.

  10. #9
    Member deco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    89

    Re: A question for any Brit atomic users...

    Quote Originally Posted by Coler View Post
    Not a Brit but one of their neighbours - never picked up the German signal from Ireland.

    I must be in one of the absolute best syncing locations though...every night, every watch, without fail, where ever I leave them.
    plus 1

  11. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    2,906

    Re: A question for any Brit atomic users...

    Here's a funny story. My Casios have all synced with Germany while I stay in Germany. But my Seiko SBPG001 has recently stepped out of line. Not only did it sync with England but it also showed one hour later! This happened yesterday night. The night before it synced with Germany (I believe but am not 100% sure) and also showed an hour later. DST is set. Hometime is set to Berlin. When I re-sync manually it picks the German emitter and the time is correct again. Strange, no? Any ideas how this could happen?

    Till

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •