Question on Riseman pressure readings

Thread: Question on Riseman pressure readings

Question on Riseman pressure readings

I've read through the archives, but I still need some clarification. I know that the altitude is dependent on the pressure, and that any pressure changes directly affect the altimeter. Do any changes in altitude directly affect pressure readings? I would assume it would, but I'm no expert. I do know that my Riseman is very accurate with pressure readings at a constant altitude, but when traveling across a distance by car the pressure readings vary depending on considerable altitude changes. I don't calibrate the altitude very often. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
    AUSTIN

GW9200-1 Riseman
    GW9000A-1 Mudman
    GW5600J-1
    GW700BDJ

Re: Question on Riseman pressure readings

Quote Originally Posted by Austin1983 View Post
    I've read through the archives, but I still need some clarification. I know that the altitude is dependent on the pressure, and that any pressure changes directly affect the altimeter. Do any changes in altitude directly affect pressure readings? I would assume it would, but I'm no expert. I do know that my Riseman is very accurate with pressure readings at a constant altitude, but when traveling across a distance by car the pressure readings vary depending on considerable altitude changes. I don't calibrate the altitude very often. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
    Generally, the rule of thumb is: the higher the altitude, the lower the barometric pressure. Sometimes the pressure happens to be more or less constant, such as when higher altitudes have fairer weather and lower altitudes have worse weather conditions.
    Last edited by Bogeyman; August 28th, 2009 at 19:54.
    DW-9051/2
    G-9200 Riseman
    G-9100 Gulfman
    G-9000MC-8D Mudman
    GW5600J
    GA-100A-9A

Sucks to be without a G.