Rangeman - no barometer reading
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Rangeman - no barometer reading

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8

    Rangeman - no barometer reading

    Hi all - I have a Rangeman with a barometer display issue. The barometer was working fine in my hometown in Wyoming. I traveled to Nevada, the barometer did not show a reading but the altimeter worked. I returned home, the barometer showed a reading. I moved to Idaho - no reading, but the altimeter works and is correct.

    Anyone experience a similar issue? Interesting that the barometer does not show a reading but the altimeter works as it uses barometric pressure.

    Thanks much

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    409

    Re: Rangeman - no barometer reading

    Quote Originally Posted by krawl View Post
    Hi all - I have a Rangeman with a barometer display issue. The barometer was working fine in my hometown in Wyoming. I traveled to Nevada, the barometer did not show a reading but the altimeter worked. I returned home, the barometer showed a reading. I moved to Idaho - no reading, but the altimeter works and is correct.

    Anyone experience a similar issue? Interesting that the barometer does not show a reading but the altimeter works as it uses barometric pressure.

    Thanks much
    Currently having a similar problem with my Gulfmaster. Shows altitude, and it varies slighlty, as you would expect if air pressure is changing. But not barometric pressure, even though they should be using the same sensor.

    Pressure shows as. -.-- Does not say ERR.

    Has fine worked in the past. Recently had the watch on an airplane, if that would matter.

    I wonder if there is a setting that turns the barometer off. Haven't found it in manual. Wondered if a reset to factory settings -- if available -- might help.

    Manual does say sensor might not work if the battery does not have enough power and that this could be the case even if the battery shows as H. So have set it in the window for more charge to see if that helps.
    Seminoles likes this.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    409

    Re: Rangeman - no barometer reading

    Based on suggestions from members in the thread I started on my Gulfmaster barometer issues, I reset my barometer to factory settings. You can do this in barometer mode on the Gulfmaster by pressing the A and C buttons together and holding for a bit. This brought the barometer back and it is now working.

    I suspect there is a similar reset available on the Rangeman, but do not have one to check. May be different buttons. But probably worth a try.
    soulbridgemedia likes this.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8

    Re: Rangeman - no barometer reading

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill R W View Post
    Based on suggestions from members in the thread I started on my Gulfmaster barometer issues, I reset my barometer to factory settings. You can do this in barometer mode on the Gulfmaster by pressing the A and C buttons together and holding for a bit. This brought the barometer back and it is now working.

    I suspect there is a similar reset available on the Rangeman, but do not have one to check. May be different buttons. But probably worth a try.
    Thanks - Your issue was the same as mine. I also reset the barometer and left it at the factory setting. Now to give it a day to see if it is actually taking readings.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    8

    Re: Rangeman - no barometer reading

    I calibrated the barometer to current conditions and it was working fine. After having just gotten off a plane, the barometer shows - . -- Seems as though the pressurized cabin impedes the function of the sensor and a reset is needed after a flight.

  7. #6
    Member romseyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,039

    Re: Rangeman - no barometer reading

    I had the same with Mudmaster. I think the sensor might be the same.
    The fact that the sensor is affected in the plane cabin sounds bad. I had my Mudmaster on several flights and also took it to high Andes. The barometer reading stopped twice. First time when hiking above 13000 feet. After about a week it cured itself. Second time was on the plane. This time didn't came back to normal. At the time I had no idea that a simple reset can help.
    Sent the watch for a guarantee repair.
    Anybody know how to reset Mudmaster? For future. ;)

  8. #7
    Member Worker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,866

    Re: Rangeman - no barometer reading

    Are plane rides an issue for all ABC watches?

    I had not heard this before.

  9. #8
    Member Worker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,866

    Re: Rangeman - no barometer reading

    Are plane rides an issue for all ABC watches?

    I had not heard this before.

  10. #9
    Member Watch_Geekmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,100

    Re: Rangeman - no barometer reading

    Quote Originally Posted by Worker View Post
    Are plane rides an issue for all ABC watches?
    No, it should not be. I've took my PRG270 onto a plane countless times, even taking measurements within, not a single issue.
    Worker likes this.

  11. #10
    Member Worker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,866

    Re: Rangeman - no barometer reading

    You don't think it's something with the new V3 sensor do ya?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. Rangeman barometer off
      By jball63 in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: January 11th, 2015, 22:26
    2. Rangeman Barometer
      By njb242 in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: February 1st, 2014, 23:26
    3. Replies: 1
      Last Post: May 5th, 2011, 23:54
    4. Barometer Reading
      By jaydee4d in forum Suunto
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: October 17th, 2007, 16:48
    5. SKYFORCE Barometer Graph Reading
      By pietervn in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 25
      Last Post: March 22nd, 2007, 07:09

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •