Setting of DST (noob question)

Thread: Setting of DST (noob question)

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    280

    Setting of DST (noob question)

    As mentioned in another thread, I just got an AW 591.

    Does the module need resetting for DST or is it preprogrammed?

    I had the watch set for time at the store. Is it safe to say I won't need any resetting?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Member TixTox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Atlantis
    Posts
    686

    Re: Setting of DST (noob question)

    I might be wrong but I think your watch only has a setting for DST on/off.

    No auto setting so depending on how DST is set, on or off right now, (should be set to off right now) most likely you will need to reset when we go back on DST in the spring.

    Setting these watches is simple, the best way to learn is read the manual on time setting and do it.
    “Time is an illusion.” ― Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    12,967

    Re: Setting of DST (noob question)

    Here is the manual from the Casiousa website. http://ftp.casio.co.jp/pub/world_man.../en/qw4778.pdf scroll down and read over the time setting and DST change
    Casio/ Citizen/ G-Shock/ Pro Trek/ Seiko



  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member Mike K's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    5,784

    Re: Setting of DST (noob question)

    Quote Originally Posted by Romulux View Post
    As mentioned in another thread, I just got an AW 591.

    Does the module need resetting for DST or is it preprogrammed?

    I had the watch set for time at the store. Is it safe to say I won't need any resetting?
    The dates for Daylight Savings Time are constantly changing, so Casio doesn't bother even TRYING to program them into their watches. From your post history, you're traveling all over the world, and a watch can't tell where in the world it is without some help. If you go to Australia this week, THEY'RE on DST right now, so you'd have to turn on DST on your watch for those time zones.

    Casios with 40 or 48 "world time zones" sound great in theory, but the wearer has to stay on top of things year-round to turn DST on or off for each zone as needed.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    280

    Re: Setting of DST (noob question)

    I agree. I think the feature is more of a nice info to know, but a 3rd GMT hand on an analog is much more convenient.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Similar Threads

    1. DST setting on an atomic G
      By chuchichan in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: July 29th, 2014, 17:01
    2. Setting G-Shock to DST
      By ifor in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: March 10th, 2011, 21:48
    3. setting DST
      By panerai104 in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: November 15th, 2010, 14:37
    4. DST Setting
      By Mark EM in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: October 25th, 2009, 20:23
    5. Atomic DST setting question?
      By Watcheye in forum Casio G-Shock
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: November 4th, 2007, 01:33

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •