Syncing my Riseman...

Thread: Syncing my Riseman...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member taint it sweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North of Chicago
    Posts
    272

    Syncing my Riseman...

    I was wondering if I have to place the Riseman in a window for it to sync...or will it do it on its own while in the watch box?(like my Citizen atomic watch)
    Citizen Chrono-Time AT
    Citizen AT4003-04E
    Citizen Calibre 2100
    Citizen Nighthawk (US version)
    ESQ Stratus
    G-Shock 9200 (Riseman)
    G-Shock G9000BP-1
    G-Shock GW530
    G-Shock GLX-5550
    Parnis Power Reserve Automatic
    Star Performer Black IP (Blue LED's)
    __________________________________________________
    Wishing for: Breitling Navitimer, Ball Trainmaster Cannonball

  2. #2
    Member strongergodzilla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    991

    Re: Syncing my Riseman...

    definitely depends on your proximity to the signal I guess. My atomics will sync on my arm in bed under covers. I live in los angeles. Others report ONLY one window in the house working. You can force it to try to sync, and see which spot in your place works best?

  3. #3
    G-Shock Mod stockae92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California - USA
    Posts
    13,655

    Re: Syncing my Riseman...

    i would just try it at different places for a few nights

    and not all G-Shocks are born the same. i found that that my GW6900 sync much more easily than my GW9200.

    so you may need to do some trial and error

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member taint it sweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North of Chicago
    Posts
    272

    Re: Syncing my Riseman...

    Will it display on the screen that it is syncing?
    Citizen Chrono-Time AT
    Citizen AT4003-04E
    Citizen Calibre 2100
    Citizen Nighthawk (US version)
    ESQ Stratus
    G-Shock 9200 (Riseman)
    G-Shock G9000BP-1
    G-Shock GW530
    G-Shock GLX-5550
    Parnis Power Reserve Automatic
    Star Performer Black IP (Blue LED's)
    __________________________________________________
    Wishing for: Breitling Navitimer, Ball Trainmaster Cannonball

  6. #5
    lvt
    lvt is online now
    Member lvt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    The dark side of the Moon
    Posts
    17,394

    Re: Syncing my Riseman...

    Quote Originally Posted by taint it sweet View Post
    Will it display on the screen that it is syncing?
    AFAIK the Riseman doesn't display visual warning while syncing, but if the "L3" message flashes on the screen the watch is probably syncing...
    Ball - Casio (G-shock) - HMT - Longines - Parnis - Seagull - Steinhart - Tissot - Victorinox - Yema

  7. #6
    Member ccm123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    9,589

    Re: Syncing my Riseman...

    I have 2 atomic G's (Riseman and a 5600). The Riseman is not as sensitive to the signals as the 5600 is. On numerous occasions, I place both on my window sill and only the 5600 syncs.

    You should try different places and sometimes, atmospheric conditions will affect reception of the signals. You may get it to sync one day and not again for 2-3 weeks (this is usually my case). I have had it go 4 weeks without a sync, last December.

  8. #7
    Member Jeff_C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canton Georgia, near Atlanta.
    Posts
    14,017

    Re: Syncing my Riseman...

    TOTALLY depends on your location, environmental conditions and even atmospheric conditions... (ok ok I guess atmospheric conditions are environmental conditions, but not necessarily if one considers solar activity and other issues... but I digress). :)

    My Riseman is the only G I own that I can manually sync. For some reason, MY riseman and MY location seem to like each other.

    Okok... enough cough syrup for me.
    Suunto... Replacing Luck!



  9. #8
    Member taint it sweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    North of Chicago
    Posts
    272

    Re: Syncing my Riseman...

    Quote Originally Posted by ccm123 View Post
    I have 2 atomic G's (Riseman and a 5600). The Riseman is not as sensitive to the signals as the 5600 is. On numerous occasions, I place both on my window sill and only the 5600 syncs.

    You should try different places and sometimes, atmospheric conditions will affect reception of the signals. You may get it to sync one day and not again for 2-3 weeks (this is usually my case). I have had it go 4 weeks without a sync, last December.
    Yeah, I'm finding out that it doesn't sync nightly like the Citizen (bummer)...it says the last successful sync was 1-30 and when I tried to do a manual one, it said "ERR"...I guess I'll just let it do its thing, since it's right on now...
    Citizen Chrono-Time AT
    Citizen AT4003-04E
    Citizen Calibre 2100
    Citizen Nighthawk (US version)
    ESQ Stratus
    G-Shock 9200 (Riseman)
    G-Shock G9000BP-1
    G-Shock GW530
    G-Shock GLX-5550
    Parnis Power Reserve Automatic
    Star Performer Black IP (Blue LED's)
    __________________________________________________
    Wishing for: Breitling Navitimer, Ball Trainmaster Cannonball

  10. #9
    Member jh9t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    543

    Re: Syncing my Riseman...

    My atomics only syncs if they are next the window on my nightstand or on the window sill. I also found that they sync better if I put the watch on one of those acrylic stand vs in a tin or laying on its side.
    Manual sync never works for me during the day, only after/around midnight.
    MKII Kingston

  11. #10
    Member ronbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Parador
    Posts
    1,692

    Re: Syncing my Riseman...

    For me it is strange. I put my atomic models near the window and they sometimes sync. I put them in the cabinet in the middle of my bedroom and they always sync :). Strange -Ronbo

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •