Two week old Riseman review.

Thread: Two week old Riseman review.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Two week old Riseman review.

I've had my GW-9200 Riseman exactly two weeks now, and as it's my very first G-Shock I thought I would share my first impressions. It's more a way for me to collate my thoughts, and whilst I don't expect I wll tell anyone anything they don't already know, I will be interested to hear your thoughts on my thoughts!

Pro's.

• As this is my very first G I was a bit apprehensive about it's size, it's not that I dislike big watches, more that I have no experience of them. But first impressions when I opened the box were very positive, it is big enough to look tough and chunky, but not so big as to be obstructive with clothing etc. I was very impressed with the general feel and weight of the watch.

• I really like the MBJ version too, but thats not to detract from the look of this watch. I like the contrast of red and black with the silver fittings.
    • The strap is very comfortable for me. I like the adjustability of a resin band as I can tighten/loosen it as required, and I love the double clasp.
    • I love the Auto EL, very clever and equally useful. I do however wish I could adjust to stay on for 5 seconds as per some others, as 2 seconds is a bit short sometimes.
    • It's very easy to use, the buttons feel solid and are easy to press, and their functions are very intuitive. Setting of alarms, countdown timers are very straightforward.
    • The altimeter has so far proved very accurate. I set the reference altitiude every day (at least once!) and have not yet tired of cross referencing my destinations with Google Earth
    • In two weeks (of admittedly sunny weather) even with lots of fiddling the battery has never moved from High.

Con's.

• The time is not visible in the altimeter function! Very frustrating!