Why did I get rid of my 1983 Casio DW-5000?
Like Tree47Likes

Thread: Why did I get rid of my 1983 Casio DW-5000?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Why did I get rid of my 1983 Casio DW-5000?

Newbie here. Back in 1983 I got a G-shock watch. I thought it was so cool. It had a light and was indestructible. Being young and stupid, I used to throw it against the wall just to show that it was indestructible. Never had an issue. Then in college, the strap broke so I put a blue velcro strap on it and wore it until graduation. Then I got my first nice watch. It was a Movado that got stolen, then I had some money and bought a TAG-Heuer SEL in the 90s. Loved it and wore it forever. The G-Shock was a distant memory.

A year ago, I started wishing I had that G-shock again and was amazed at how collectible they were. I looked up the original G-Shock and saw my watch. Why did I get rid of it? I wanted to buy one, but they were too expensive. So I got a Rangeman for $100 on Amazon. Great price! I really like it but I think the original was better.

So yesterday, my wife tells me we are cleaning out the garage. I am going through boxes of old pictures of friends and girlfriends and stuff I should probably throw away. Found some great cassette tapes from the 80s. Then in the corner of the box I see a watch.....G-Shock DW-5000! With bezel and velcro strap. I can't believe my luck. I put it under water to clean it with a toothbrush and the bezel disintegrates in my hands.

The battery is dead, of course, so I go to a watch shop to get a new battery. Hoping that it still works. Bingo! Everything works.

I read up a little and am going to buy a brazilian bezel and strap. Upon closer inspection, I guess I did damage it throwing it against walls when I was a dumb kid. A screw and a few push buttons are bent but working.

Any advice on do's and don'ts from here?
    Name:  IMG_20160209_104245637_HDR.jpg
Views: 765
Size:  942.7 KB
    Name:  IMG_20160209_104310347_HDR.jpg
Views: 765