Are you amazed by some of the "Collectible" G prices?
Like Tree72Likes

Thread: Are you amazed by some of the "Collectible" G prices?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Are you amazed by some of the "Collectible" G prices?

I am

I am still quite new to it all having started buying G's just this past Nov 2014

I see many that for what ever reason seem very attractive to me so I understand the pull.

But being new I have to admit some prices I see are amazing to me.
    I just saw a DW-6900FSLRG-8 ...you know the "Time Is Money" one with the Panda on it...
    It went on sale here on one of our groups for over $1000 USD I thought wow I know that is a limited
    to 500 pieces watch but it is after all is said & done a basic 1289 module.
    Well that thing sold in under 5 minutes

I have seen many others similar & don't even get started on the Frog's

I know the old saying something is worth what someone is willing to pay so
    understand this but... still I am quite amazed at some of the prices.

How about you?

Re: Are you amazed by some of the "Collectible" G prices?

You can buy a Casio scientific calculator for as little as $9.99 on Amazon ... very quick check.

I'm sure the chip is no bigger than that in a G-Shock. There's a lot, but still a finite number of modules for G-Shocks. They're certainly no more complicated

than the calculator. So ... yes ... change the programming, use the materials to create a case, resin exterior & strap ... & you really don't have a lot more !!!

There's a certain design cost, production run set-up cost & peripheral costs amortized over the number of watches in each run.

They are all, essentially, mass produced in a fairly automated process. After what ... 40 years or so ... they've pretty much got it down pat!

The real costs are in marketing & distribution ... but on a per piece basis, that's still peanuts.