Advice on first major watch purchase
Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By Watermark
  • 1 Post By dannyking
  • 1 Post By Jh94

Thread: Advice on first major watch purchase

Advice on first major watch purchase

Hi,

I'm very new to using forums, so if I am posting incorrectly, please correct me.

I am a 19 year old college student looking to invest in a watch that I can wear and enjoy for a long time.

I have always admired fine watches, but I have never really been able to afford one. Now that I have been able to save some money, I am looking to use some of it to invest in a watch that I can use for years, and maybe one day even pass on to a loved one. I have worked hard for every dollar I have, so I am looking to get as much watch as I can for the money.

I would like to spend less than $2,000 - but under $1500 would be even better.

I really like Omega watches, but I don't want to limit myself to those alone. I have looked a lot at used speedmasters, but I am not sure if that is the best idea for me. I love the look and history of speedys, but I also like Tag and Breitling watches.

I love mechanical watches, but I don't know if I can afford the maintenance/repairs associated with that type of movement.

So basically I am looking for something that is:

Under $2,000, ideally under $1,500

A timeless design, preferably a black dial, sport watch that could look as good with a white tee as with a dress shirt

A respected name among enthusiasts

Mechanical or Quartz movement? I'm afraid of expensive repairs

A watch that isn't going to depreciate 50% the second I put it on my wrist (why I am interested in buying used)

What kind of watch do you think I should look at? Grey market or certified retailer? Does a watch like this even exist?

Thanks

edit: Preferably a Chronograph, Arabic numbers, stainless strap,
    Last edited by Jh94; March 27th, 2013 at 07:36.

Re: Advice on first major watch purchase

save a bit more and get a nomos glashutte piece on ebay.