11 18.33%
  • Mystery obsession

4 6.67%
Like Tree26Likes

Thread: Advice on next purchase? GS or Rolex

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast

Question Advice on next purchase? GS or Rolex

Hello world...
    This is my first post (after watching and reading for some time).
    I am looking for advice on where to go from here. I have a small and relatively inexpensive collection and am looking to start moving forward.
    Each purchase will likely have some time in between to save up and research.
    Ok so getting to the point, I've been torn between starting with a nice Grand Seiko as I like my SKX very much and it is my "wear to work" watch (Im a operator at a refinery so its exposed to harsh conditions and chemicals). The GS models im looking at would be :
    SBGE001/201
    SBGE011/211
    SBGA029
    I initially was intending to go with a SBDX017 MM300 and it is still a very good possibility that that is the direction I may go as its considerably cheaper, but wonder about the build quality as compared to the Grand Seikos?
    I know any of the above will be great bang for the buck watches with excellent finishing.
    Now on to the alternatives / non Seiko options...
    I have liked the Rolex 214270 Explorer I and 16570/216570 white dial "Polar" Explorer II since first seeing them a while back and they are generally in the same price ballpark as the Grand Seikos I am looking at but have two concerns
    1. There is only one local shop that deals in Rolex anywhere where I live and their selection is small to say the least, I have talked to them and tried a few things on but I have been underwhelmed with Rolex so far as far as that "this is it" feeling... they have not had a 39mm Explorer in so maybe when they have one it will wow me but I expected more in some way.