Voters
14. This poll is closed
  • Omega Seamaster midsize blue dial

3 21.43%
  • Omega Speedmaster FOIS

5 35.71%
  • Tudor Black Bay 58

6 42.86%

Thread: Advice: Omega Seamaster midsize vs Omega speedmaster FOIS vs Tudor black bay 58

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Advice: Omega Seamaster midsize vs Omega speedmaster FOIS vs Tudor black bay 58

Hi all, i just registered and this is my first post. I have been watching the videos on Youtube for a long time and gradually get interested in automatic watches. I had a Seiko 5 in college and then sold it. Now i only have one watch, Casio Pro-trek, i used it when i travel, i like all functions of the watch.

Now i started to save $500 every month in hope to buy my first automatic watch at the end of the year for my 30th birthday. Budget is around $3000-$4000. I am a CPA, and have skinny 6 3/4 wrist. I want a Rolex, but spending $8000 for my first watch is too crazy for me, i will slowly get them and enjoy the process.

I am struggling with the following choices, and really appreciate y'all's opinion:

1. Omega Seamaster midsize blue ceramic:
    Pros: brand prestige, 007 history, 36.25 perfect dress/casual for my wrist, ceramic/sapphire upgrades, deep blue color very interesting. cheapest among all choice.
    Cons: may not be as legendary as Omega speedmaster.

2. Omega Speedmaster FOIS
    Pros: brand prestige, most iconic of Omega, 40mm size is ok for me, this may be the only chronograph i need, whereas seamaster will be a repeat if i eventually will buy a sub, but the seamaster blue is iconic as well.
    cons: no date, don't like the brown strap, prefer bracelet, almost $1000 more than seamaster

3. Tudor black bay 58
    Pros: the vintage look is the best of all three
    Cons: I feel Tudor is a tier below Omega in terms of prestige, no date, if i eventually will buy a Sub, seems this is too similar. Price tops budget.

Re: Advice: Omega Seamaster midsize vs Omega speedmaster FOIS vs Tudor black bay 58