Advice Please - Genuine Rado?

Thread: Advice Please - Genuine Rado?

Advice Please - Genuine Rado?

Hello everyone.

I recently joined this forum as I found it very helpful when researching into my new hobby of watches.

I've got the bug for vintage recently and have just bought three pieces off ebay (!). If anyone is interested in seeing them, I'd be happy to post photos etc - I'm hoping to collect a couple of them from the Post Office today.

Anyway, I really like the look of some vintage Rado watches I've seen. As a green newbie, I still have extremely limited knowledge when it comes to verifying if a watch is genuine or not. I was hoping to bow to the superior knowledge of any experts on here who would be so kind as to share their thoughts on the following watch:

Vintage Rado Automatic Watch Day Date Rare | eBay

Apologies if this is the wrong forum to post this in and thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Re: Advice Please - Genuine Rado?

Decided not to bid, just in case. Auction now ended....

Any advice on what to look out for re: vintage Rado watches would be appreciated.

It looks genuine, I think you would have been safe to bid. There are lots of those old Rado's around, some nice Purple and Green horse examples with prices that can be easily navigated.

I don't know enough just about rado to give you something specific to look for, although i will say that with any vintage mechanical watch,unless it comes with a certificate proving recent and professuional serice, get a service done to the watch. Lots of vintage watches on ebay will say 'running fine, keeps good time' or 'was recently serviced', but if it can;t be proven, don't believe it. And, just because it is running well and keeping good time doesn't mean that it is not hurting inside and needs attention. Figure the cost of service into your budget.
    Influence is like the wind...

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

You can do this to get up to speed-