Attention for the wrong watch...
Like Tree44Likes

Thread: Attention for the wrong watch...

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Attention for the wrong watch...

I own a watch. One that, shall we say...I would never admit to here. (until now so I can tell this story) It is one I bought specifically to wear to work. As some of you know, I work in construction sales. So I am walking jobsites daily. Showing off demo tools, from drills to jack hammers. I drive a red van, and wear a red uniform workshirt.

So I bought this.

Name:  redshock.jpg
Views: 825
Size:  198.4 KB

Look it matches the truck! and my work shirts, and the tools I sell. I wear it as more part of a uniform then a watch. Don't get me wrong, I like G Shocks, but I am more of an analog Aviation series G shock guy. I would never wear this watch outside of work. Maybe to the gym...maybe.

Here is my point. Since I bought this "Uniform Accessory" I have gotten more "Nice watch!" Comments then I have ever gotten. I just bow my head and mutter "thanks.." and go about my day. I admit that is saddens me that this ugly red monstrosity that I paid $70 bucks for gets more compliments then my Rolex used to get...or ANY watch I have ever had has gotten for that matter.

I should also note, that the people that say "Nice Watch" to me, are the kind (or seem to be) that would proudly wear a 52 mm blingy Invicta with pride...which greatly increases the "icky" feeling I get when I hear "Nice Watch"

Sigh...

What about you, ever get compliments on a watch that you think is a terrible/gaudy/ugly/non WIS/etc watch? Share your story.
    findingnewo, ljb187, Domo and 5 others like this.
    Time is relative.

Re: Attention for the wrong watch...

.........Never in my life......
    I'm giving your watch........and the man who wears it gets.......and an attaboy..
    ljb187, Domo, Deledda and 1 others like this.