Automatic Watch Manufacturers $2,000 - $4,000: Best Materials, Finish & Movements?

Thread: Automatic Watch Manufacturers $2,000 - $4,000: Best Materials, Finish & Movements?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Automatic Watch Manufacturers $2,000 - $4,000: Best Materials, Finish & Movements?

Hi,
    I am still fairly new to automatic mechanical watches and have been shopping via AD’s on the internet. What is difficult to assess over the internet, which is beyond “design” or features that attract you to a particular watch is the materials of construction, fit, finish of the face, case and bracelet and quality of movement used between the companies who market watches in this price range.

On the last point, I realize that they mostly rely on ETA movements, but some buy better grades or modify them internally. I currently have a Ball watch and I was extremely pleased with its quality buying it site unseen. I am interseted in identifying other manufacturers.

Below, I have listed a number of Swiss and German companies that I see discussed on the internet. Its by know means comprehensive. I just placed it within the post to “jog” your memories…

Swiss:

1. Ball
    2. Baume & Mercier
    3. Bell & Ross
    4. Breitling
    5. Doxa
    6. Ebel
    7. Eberhard
    8. Edox
    9. Fortis
    10. Glycene
    11. Longines
    12. Maurice Lacroix
    13. Mido
    14. Montblanc
    15. Omega
    16. Oris
    17. Tagheuer

German:

1. Chronoswiss
    2. Damasko
    3. Limes
    4. Muhle Glashutte
    5. Nomos
    6. Jorge Schauer
    7. Sinn
    8. Stowa
    9. Temption
    10. Tutima
    11. UTS

QUESTION:

Forgeting individual designs or type of watch, which Swiss or German companies are “top” in this price range in terms of the materials of construction, fit, finish of the face, case and bracelet and quality of movement used in your opinion and why?

Thanks,

Bob
    __________________________________________________ __________________