Because its a Rolex!
Like Tree176Likes

Thread: Because its a Rolex!

Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Because its a Rolex!

Often fellow members of this forum post questions and comparisons between watches and many times when a Rolex is involved I feel like I see several posts that the Rolex should be picked "because its a Rolex".....

This answers in my humble opinion seriously falls short. If someone feels that Rolex is the better watch then please explain. Is it the movement, the history, the aesthetics.....just say anything past Its a Rolex.

Do not get me wrong, I am not bashing Rolex, they make amazing watches and have bullet proof pedigree, but when someone gives that answer I feel like a 5 year old just entered an adults discussion.

I am no watch expert but if I choose to include myself in a discussion as such I will give reasoning for which watch I would suggest/recommend....which is often a Rolex.

What gives?
    SW2201, Veda and Juanjo_NY like this.
    Modern
    Breitling Windrider B13358LA/A700
    Crepas L'Ocean
    MJW The Decider, The Last Laugh Tattoo Edition
    Rolex Submariner 16610
    Seiko SARB017, SARB065

Swatch Bunnysutra
    Vostok Amphibian 100652

Vintage
    1966 Longines Gold Metal (Inherited)
    1949 Cortebert 8459
    1945 Bulova Minute Man (Inherited)

Re: Because its a Rolex!

The OP is right in that many recommendations lack context, especially when it comes to Rolex. Sometimes it can be valid WIS shorthand for a watch that is well made and retains its value. Sometimes it can mean no more than a "+1" type boost to a post count. But there are many other occasions on which a discussion based on metrics is warranted. Advocating a watch purchase based on name alone is at one end of the simplistic spectrum, just like equating Rolex with pretentiousness is at the other. Here's to raising the level of dialogue based on merits based on facts, however Quixotic that quest may be.