Beginner looking for first watch under $3k, advice appreciated!

Thread: Beginner looking for first watch under $3k, advice appreciated!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Beginner looking for first watch under $3k, advice appreciated!

Hi all,

I am new to the watch world and want to take the first step to building a collection. I have about $3k, but would ideally prefer to spend somewhere in the $2-2.5k range.

I'm looking for something to wear everyday, mostly with casual/sport apparel but occasionally with suits. I'm a 25 year old first year lawyer in NYC. Therefore, I'm looking for something with a little sex appeal and style.

My favorite watch is a Panerai, but unfortuantely I lack the means currently. Here are some that I'm looking at:

Omega seamaster black-on-black
    Tag Heuer Carrera Automatic
    Tag Heuer Monaco blue face
    Breitling Superocean black-on-black
    Omega seamaster planet ocean

I really like the Monaco but the price is a little steep and I've heard Tags are unreliable. The seamaster is also nice but I hear it's being replaced. I looked at the bond versions, but I am turned off by the 007 branding. The Breitling and the PO are cool but I worry that they are too bulky.

Do you guys have any opinions on the topic? Any watches I'm overlooking?

edit: I'm also looking at the Omega Aqua Terra, but concerned that it might be too dressy for daily use. Thoughts?
    Last edited by sater523; March 11th, 2008 at 04:29.

Re: Beginner looking for first watch under $3k, advice appreciated!

Well, my personal favorite is my Enzo EMV. They retail for well below your price range - maybe $800 to 1000 used. I've worn mine with both casual clothes and in court (impressed the AUSA with it). If I had to choose from your list I would go with Omega. Good luck and be sure to post pics of whatever you get.
    Scott

Life is tough. It's tougher if you're stupid.