Brand servicability
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Brand servicability

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Brand servicability

For some time I've been eyeing the Nomos Club. However, the idea of having to send it back to Germany for a service is off-putting.

I'm rather new to the watch world and have two questions: are there other watch brands that are difficult to have serviced by a local watchmaker (vs manufacturer)? Secondly, in general do you let this impact a watch purchase?

Re: Brand servicability

Hi Neato, I have the Nomos Tangente 35 mm. It keeps such accurate time and I like it so much that tomorrow I go back to Bangkok where I bought this and buy the Nomos Club 36 mm.
    As far as servicing, I'll take it to my local watchmaker that services all brands. This is where I take my Rolex's.
    My sugestion is to buy the watch you want and have it serviced locally. But, I'll tell you, it might not need anything until just a normal cleaning in 5 years, witch Nomos recommends.

I'm thinking the more complicated the watch, the harder it would be to find someone locally who would be acceptable (a very general statement, btw). That said, the serviceability issue never arises at all when I'm considering purchases. The only issues that matter are whether I like the look of the watch enough and if I can afford it. If yes to those 2 questions, done deal, servicing is dealt with if/when . . .
    Domo and Ard like this.
    A.Lange & Sohne * Audemars Piguet * Blancpain * Cartier * Dornblueth & Sohne * Invicta * Jaeger-LeCoultre * Meraud * Rolex * Revolution Watch Company * Tudor

"the deeper the roots, the higher the reach" - author unknown

Yesterday I was clever, so I wanted to change the world. Today I am wise, so I am changing myself. - Rumi

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

you can service it locally but I kind of like the idea of the people who made the watch giving it a full scrub and polishing for not so much money :D