Buying second hand: What checklist do you go through?
Like Tree9Likes
  • 6 Post By talljosh
  • 1 Post By talljosh
  • 1 Post By wsfarrell
  • 1 Post By watch_hor

Thread: Buying second hand: What checklist do you go through?

Hello!

I'm looking to buy a piece from a second hand watch dealer (brick and mortar) where I live.

I have zero experience in buying second hand. I have no idea what to look for when looking at the watch, except looking for scratches on the case.

- I was wondering if you had a checklist that you go through when evaluating a second hand watch (try the crown, see if the bracelet is genuine,..)
    - Are there "tools" that you carry with you (like some kind of magnifying glass, or maybe a toothpick) that help you make an assessment.
    - Do you know of a nice resource on the web that talks about this?

Thank you very much.

Re: Buying second hand: What checklist do you go through?

I always bring a loupe and look at the following:

Case - scratches, dents etc.
    Dial - Dust under glass, moisture spots etc.
    Hands - Are they original, does the lume shine nice?
    Crown - if it's screw down, does it screw down?
    Functions - Test them all!

In terms of authenticity and service history worries, I'm a big fan of the 'buy the seller' maxim. If the seller (in this case a brick and mortar dealer) is responsive and transparent, then you're already off to a head start.

I personally don't care much about papers (they are a nice bonus but are the easiest part of a watch to fake!) and I care even less about boxes (I really don't need to pay for some branded cardboard).

Once you've got a good feeling for the seller, they can tell you a lot of info, and there's a lot of things that they can prove. From a dealer I would ask for documented service histories, and whether or not they have any authenticity guarantees so that you've got recourse if it turns out to be a 'franken'.