Buying A Watch For My Dad

Thread: Buying A Watch For My Dad

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Buying A Watch For My Dad

Hi everyone. I am looking to buy my dad a watch for Christmas. I want to convert him into a leather band user (all his watches are stainless steel) and I am looking for something with a big face (40 mm minimum).

I have limited knowledge with watches and would like something that is of a respectable brand - especially amongst enthusiast's circles like yourselves. My biggest grief is that I am working with a budget around 300-400.

After endlessly searching everywhere for something I thought he would like I found this Haurex watch .

Based on reviews from this forum, most people claim that while handsome looking - this brand is not worth the money.

At this point any recommendations would be helpful and appreciated.

Banned

Re: Buying A Watch For My Dad

In this price class Stowa, Steinhart and Timefactors are among the standard recommendations. All reputable and good for the money.

If you just want to convert him to a leather guy (oooh, that sounds strange but you know what I mean), why not simply buy him a really nice leather strap for a watch he adores anyway? If he so far doesn't really like leather, giving him a leather strap on a watch he might not like very much is a big step and possibly unnecessary expense.

Find out the lug width, width between the horns, of his favorite watch and order a really nice leather strap and buckle to go with that. Maybe a deployment buckle, so the mechanism is the same as for the steel bands.

The winter is a particularly good time for a nice leather strap as they are warmer and won't be destroyed by too much sweat.

With your budget you can reach for the top. But I'd start out maybe with one good calf strap and if you are not a PETA member a nice Gator strap in the $150 class.

Hirsch, Kaufmann, Rios, Camille Fournet, Hadley Roma, Sirtoli are all reputed brands you can look for.