Can different movement of same beat rate be smoother than others?
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Can different movement of same beat rate be smoother than others?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Can different movement of same beat rate be smoother than others?

I sometimes read comments here and there that watch A with beat rate X has the second hand run smoother than watch B with same beat rate but with a different movement.

Ok if the second hand are the same length, is that only possible? Are they fooling themselves?
    I have not been able to see such difference, but some are positive that some movements with for example 28800 beat are smoother than others with same 28.800 beat.
    Teach me.

Re: Can different movement of same beat rate be smoother than others?

I'm no expert, but would think it would be the same if beat rate and hand length were the same. Maybe dial layout causes an optical illusion?

Born in South Korea - Canadian citizen - Living in Philly Suburb

It is interesting that you mention this.

I noticed that in an Ebel shop one day, one of their 3 hander watch had ALMOST perfect sweep!! Even in close examination. I was quite impressed. I don't think it was one of their in-house movement model either. It was around $1k jobbie. (Can not remember the model but I am sure it would have run of the mill ETA movement)
    Chronic flipper...

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

WnS

I'm no expert either, but I think smoothness varies depending on the duration of the "stop" between the fast ticks. The shorter the stop, the smoother the second hand moves.
    I'm content with my watch collection

Overhead lighting can make a noticeable difference. The very fast flickering of some bulbs can make a watch seem more or less smooth. Nothing about the watch itself should meaningfully change the perceived smoothness, though (except the length of the sweep second hand, as noted).