Is this considered a dress watch?
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Is this considered a dress watch?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Is this considered a dress watch?

Hi everyone,

I am very new to watches. What's the definition of a dress watch? Is this a dress watch? Thanks.

Marine automatic, sterlingsilver dial and date, matt case - STOWA GmbH & Co.KG

Banned

Re: Is this considered a dress watch?

Not uber-dressy, but you could wear the black strapped version to any formal occasion IMO. For me (don't know if it's just me) totally, pure dress watches have hour markers or maybe roman numerals, but I think if anyone faulted you for wearing such a respectable watch with a suit, you'd be better off giving them a wide berth anyway.

I'd say that's definitely a clean and modern dress watch.
    Last edited by keila; February 12th, 2012 at 11:42.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Some have a more strict definition of a dress watch than others, and would say it's not a dress watch because of its size, Arabic numerals, and because it has a date function. I think it's a very classy looking watch and would be happy to wear it as a dress watch, if only my wrist was a tad bigger.

Moderator at Large stuffler,mike's Avatar

A lot of people would say it is a dress watch, other would classify this Stowa as being classic. I think it is what it says: A Marine watch inspired by predecessors ages ago.
    I am wearing all my Stowa watches with suits.
    Last edited by stuffler,mike; February 12th, 2012 at 19:03.
    Kind regards
    Mike

Instagram @mikestuffler

Wouldn't call it a dress watch, but in the continuum from casual to dressy, it falls somewhere in the middle. Could you wear it during the day with a sport coat or a suit? Sure. Would you wear it out for the evening with a dark suit or a tux? I'd reach for something else. But it's a classic, and a very nice looking watch.