Considering Omega, Anonimo, Glycine

Thread: Considering Omega, Anonimo, Glycine

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Considering Omega, Anonimo, Glycine

Hi all,

greetings from Singapore!

newbie here, getting more and more fascinated in the world of horology.

i've been wearing Swatches and G-Shocks most of my life, and i was never into them. To me, a watch is just a time-telling device and i could not imagine paying thousands of dollars just for a watch then.

it was until i saw a business associate wearing a nice big watch and i thought it looked pretty good. i asked to have a closer look and he gladly offered it to me. I held it and thought, wow this is heavy and big. Brand? "Officine Panerai Luminor Marina". It was a manual winding watch with a clear glassback.

I thought to myself, not bad! big and classy, but i've never heard of the brand before. Moreover it came with a rubber strap, can't cost that much right? So i casually asked about the price, and boy was i shocked to learn that it cost him about S$6k back in 2005, and it should be about S$8k now.

Panerai was my "first love" from then onwards, but somehow i couldn't justify nor afford that kind of price for a watch.

Slowly i got myself more involved and started reading up more, and got more and more "poisoned"

I currently own a russian watch http://www.poljotwatch.com/page/PW/P.../3603-1225801B and i must say the experience has been great.

I am now ready to look into owning a higher end watch, and i have shortlisted 3 brands:
    Omega Seamaster Planet Ocean Big Size, ref 2908.50.82
    http://www.omegawatches.com/index.ph...ase=3&iddial=4

Glycine Lagunare Certified Chronometer 3000, ref 3875
    http://www.glycine-watches.com/e/col...Display=10002S

Anonimo Professionale Model 6000 Black face
    http://www.anonimo.com/models/professionale.html