Culling Times Ahead - How Does a Good Guy Sell (without getting scammed)? Your tips needed

Thread: Culling Times Ahead - How Does a Good Guy Sell (without getting scammed)? Your tips needed

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Culling Times Ahead - How Does a Good Guy Sell (without getting scammed)? Your tips needed

Hello, awesome fellow members

This thread is provoked by the crazy number of scams lately. I will soon list a few items for sale and since it is my first time - have cold feet.

Buy the seller/buyer should be mentioned here, so it doesn't have to resurface all the time

I wish to make my sale a comfortable experience for the buyer and at the same time not get scammed. Reaching out to you to give me some tips - how and what to do, list them as a bundle or one at a time, paypal or bank wire only, post+insurance or DHL, let's try and keep it on the practical side.

Thanks
    The 1st Rule of WUS Club is: No Pictures - No Help.
    The 2nd Rule of WUS Club is: No Pictures - It Didn't Happen.
    The 3rd Rule of WUS Club is: Read the rules on top of the page.

Re: Culling Times Ahead - How Does a Good Guy Sell (without getting scammed)? Your tips needed

I'd insist on a postal Money Order as payment. If you know the buyer as a veteran member of the same forums, with a great reputation; you can mail out the watch at the same time he mails out the M.O.

Otherwise, it's accepted practice for the seller to mail out the item only after the M.O. has arrived. As for the buyer, when you pay for something with a postal M.O. but get scammed; then the Federal government gets involved if the buyer complains. Ironically, a postal M.O. is a great way for both buyer and seller to be protected.

As for shipping, always ship the item in question with signature confirmation. That way, a dishonest buyer can't claim that the item never arrived. Also, it's good to ask the buyer if he'd like insurance on the item. If he says "no," then it's on him if the item gets lost.