Dial Refinish?

Thread: Dial Refinish?

Dial Refinish?

I'm still a noob at watch collecting and I've been scouring the bay pretty hard as of late. What is everyone's opinion on refinished dials? It almost seems like a necessity on some watches if you want a nice looking watch at a decent price. Been looking at King Seikos and Tissot Seastars. Many with redials. How concerned should I be about what this does to the value of the watch? I'm looking to wear these watches, not collect and resell.

Banned

Re: Dial Refinish?

Most vintage collectors will skip a listing with a redial. No interest at all, so it kills the value.

Clearly an original dial in great condition would be better than a redial, but what about the case where a watch would otherwise have a pretty scruffy dial. Is it still worth more with the original dial than it would be with a good redial? There are just so many watches out there that have great pedigrees and quality movements ,but the dials are crap. In my mind there is no point in owning a watch that looks outwardly tattered. Part of my problem here is that I don't understand the quality hit you take when you refurbish a dial. Does anyone have any before and after pics, or comparison between original and refurbished dials?

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

From a collector's viewpoint a redial is a significant value detractor. Most collectors want pristine condition and originality.

Redials can be done very very well and be very hard to distinguish from the original. A good redial is not inexpensive. For a simple dial, you're going to pay at least $100 and for a typical high end watch dial I'd expect to pay closer to $300. Original dials tend to be finished better too and more resistant to age deterioration. When you factor cost and quality in, typically it makes more sense to pay more and just get a watch with a decent original dial.