Dial restoration - repainting illegible numerals.
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Dial restoration - repainting illegible numerals.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Dial restoration - repainting illegible numerals.

Hi all, a bit of a long shot but here goes.
    I'm about to receive an old Alpina watch (1940s) and the dial's numerals are very faded. As a classically trained artist I have the skill set required to repaint these on. There is enough of the original showing for an outline. My question is this, if you were going to do this, what medium would you use? I do not intend to touch the dial's finish in any other way so would be applying the medium onto the existing paint or lacquer.

Acrylic paint is favourable and as it would be set behind a crystal should be fine?
    Oil paints have too long a drying time.
    Indian ink has been traditionally used but would it adhere to lacquer?

I'd be using super fine modelling brushes to apply the medium. Slight irregularities in line formation would, in my opinion would be no different to the dials of the day.

This isn't an ask of whether one agrees with tampering vs the au naturel debate. It's not a watch I'd ever be looking to part with, nor is it terribly valuable. It's more about the challenge for me and making a faded dial more user friendly.

As always your wealth of experience is greatly appreciated.

Thanks Russ.

Re: Dial restoration - repainting illegible numerals.

LOL...I think you have much more knowledge than any here on what paints to use....Maybe ask a local watchmaker what they use.
    rfortson and Der Amf like this.
    Any watches posted may be seen as gifts,borrowed or found property and not as personal property of Little Big Feather.

I agree. I doubt you'll find many here more knowledgeable than yourself.