Do you EVEN use your watch?!
Like Tree32Likes

Thread: Do you EVEN use your watch?!

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
    D23

Question Do you EVEN use your watch?!

Hello!

I'm new to the forum, so far it looks like an amazing resource for all things watches and a great place for fun conversation.

Please excuse the provocative thread title, as I'm sure all of you for the most part actually use your watches! The question at hand is more or less, do you actually use your watch as it was perhaps intended to be used? Or have you given your watch's intended function a purpose whether it be using it for your own particular profession, sporting, hobbies, or even just everyday use?

I'm attempting to ask this question because I'm new to the watch scene... I own several everyday beater watches with none offering much practicality other then a Timex chronograph (works great!)... The problem is, it's just not that exciting... I don't love putting it on everyday. I'm ready to make a serious purchase and step up to the luxury tier, However, I actually want to wear and use the watch while I'm at work.

I work as a Paramedic and often can find myself in some pretty precarious situations (not so easy on watches). I mostly use my watch to measure time in a chronographic type setting, which is ideal for keeping track of time elapsed on scene, patching and reporting to off-site Doctors, referencing time for medication administration, taking pulses, even using an alarm function if I find myself able to take a nap on a quiet night shift.

The watch I'm eyeballing is the Omega Speedmaster Skywalker X-33 (roughly $6000)... Is it too much watch to be used on duty? Do any of you guys use a luxury type watch in a harsh or rough work environment? I would love to hear your thoughts and opinions!

Thanks,
    D23

Re: Do you EVEN use your watch?!

I wear beater on the job and nicer watches on my time off. I see no sense in wearing a nice watch in a situation were it could be damaged.