Dress / Dressy Watches
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Dress / Dressy Watches

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Vancouver Island / California (depending on the citizenship I use)

Dress / Dressy Watches

A few new (and very big) life changes are occuring, and I'm thinking I need to commemorate them with a watch purchase.

Despite loving watches - looking at them, reading about them, learning as much as possible - I rarely... and I mean rarely buy them. The last watch I purchased for myself was back in 2008, to celebrate my Bar Call. It was a Hamilton Khaki. Since then I've been gifted a Doxa, and purchased two watches as gifts for others.

Long story short - over the next 6 months I'll be getting married, and starting a new job.

This new job is more formal. I'm currently a lawyer working on mega-litigation. This means that my average day is spent in an office reading and writing. I can get away with wearing an orange faced Doxa to work and no one blinks twice. This new job, however, involves much more in-court work, and much more client interaction. To my mind this, as well as my impending wedding, justifies the purchase of my dressiest watch yet.

I have around $2000 to spend. I could go more, I could go less. It doesn't need to be 100% formal, but it should be slim, elegant, simple and subtle.

My thoughts (and the front runners) so far.

Nomos. Obviously. I particularly like the Ludwig - though both the Orion and the Tangente are beautiful in their own right.

RGM. Limited by price. But the entry level Aviators (107 - 151) look great, and are dressy enough - especially if I get a white / silver dial. Stretching a FAR way (but not theoretically too far), the 250 really appeals to me.