WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

Dress Watch, Comment on 4 Choices?

2K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  stuffler,mike 
#1 ·
Hi,
I am still fairly new to WUS and the disease known as watch acquisition syndrome. I am a sports watch guy, recreational diver and typically wear dive watches as my every day watch (Ball EMII Diver COSC) , but I am interested in getting a "dress watch" for formal "suit" days at work and special occasions socially. I am also a large man (6'-3") and I am very hard on watches (so its good that I wear bullet-proof watches).
I have narrowed my search down aesthetically, to 4 watches and would like some more experienced WUS form members to comment on their strengths and weaknesses in terms of quality and service in use in USA. I realize that the watches cover a fairly broad cost range $1,000 - $3,000, but that's not my main concern. I will have the piece for along time. I am really more interested in their relative quality and the ability to have maintained here in the States over the long-haul. Additionally, after seeing the type of watches that I am attacted to, if there are others available that I should consider along the same aesthetic, please suggest them! I have posted relative cost, movements and some questions below:

1. Stowa Antea 390 (COSC Upgrade)
· ~$ 1000 (USA)
· ETA-2824-2 COSC
· 39 mm x 9.2 mm
· Anti-reflective coating on inside or on both sides of crystal?

2. Muehle Glashutte 29er
· ~$1,250 (USA)
· ETA 2824-2 (no idea of quality level or rework?)
· 42.4 mm x 11.3 mm

3. NOMOS Tangomat Zeta Date
· ~$2,850 (USA)
· NOMOS Zeta (no idea of quality level quality of movement relative to ETA?)
· 38.3 mm x 8.2 mm

4. Montblanc Timewalker GMT
· ~$2,400 (USA)
· Montblanc 4810/405 (no idea of quality level quality of movement- reworked ETA 2893-2???)
· 42 mm x 11 mm

Thanks,

Bob

See less See more
#3 ·
I'd go with the NOMOS or the Stowa. Mike S positively reviews both in this generously detailed post.

White face. For sure.