Dress Watch. Is it really necessary?
Like Tree119Likes

Thread: Dress Watch. Is it really necessary?

Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

So I am relatively new to the WIS thing and have been soaking up information from reading the forums. One of the things I have been reading about is how to round out my collection. I have a couple of divers, a sturdy beater and my pride and joy, a Speedy Pro.
    A lot from what I read here is that a real collection needs a dress watch. I've looked at some and while some look nice, I can't justify spending that much money on something I will wear a few times a year at most.
    I feel like the two or three times a year I wear my tux, the Speedy will be fine. From looking on here though, lots of people feel this is sacrilege. I think that wearing a multi-thousand dollar watch with anything should be fine. The color scheme of the Speedy I think especially works with formal wear.
    So what do you guys think? I justified the Speedy because I thought it could be an all-situation watch. But reading here has made me rethink this.
    Am I crazy? How many of you guys have a dedicated dress watch? Is one really necessary? Will my collection be truly complete without one?
    Mize likes this.

Wear what you like. 99% of the time no one will even see your watch beneath a shirt cuff and jacket sleeve.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    WnS, RBrylawski, John MS and 4 others like this.

Re: Dress Watch. Is it really necessary?

On the other hand, if you choose to buy a dress watch (and I encourage it), it need not be an expensive one.
    copperjohn likes this.
    Over a half century of "just the right amount of odd."

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Speedy Pro is no dress watch but it looks amazing with just about anything. I wouldn't buy a dress watch just for the sake of rounding out your collection. Buy a dress watch if you find a piece you really, really like.