To eBay or not to be

Thread: To eBay or not to be

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

To eBay or not to be

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie here and currency the watch I have is my fathers Timex Indigo I kept after he passed away in Sept. I have decided, with my wifes permission, to purchase a Citizen CB0020

I have been to a local jeweler to look at the options, try them on and have them answer questions I had. They have been very helpful in the process.

However their prices are about 30% higher than the eBay vendors

I need some input on why I should not buy from an eBay vendor and support my local store even though the cost is an additional $120

Also do the jewelry stores negotiate on prices?

Thanks and I will post pics and my view of the watch when I get it
    Last edited by shrktank; December 30th, 2010 at 08:49.

Re: To eBay or not to be

Hi there, welcome to the forums.

There are numerous threads on eBay around here, but you will find them with time. Perhaps the best advice would be to be a smart shopper. Do your research (part of it you did), then visit a local store and tell them what you found, what price you are willing to pay on sight and kick-off the talks. If all your efforts fail, be smart about eBay - check the seller ratings and past sales (if the seller sold 500 Citizens in the past month and has 99% rating, chances are he is a good one). Good luck
    The 1st Rule of WUS Club is: No Pictures - No Help.
    The 2nd Rule of WUS Club is: No Pictures - It Didn't Happen.
    The 3rd Rule of WUS Club is: Read the rules on top of the page.

If you check websites that sell watches, their prices will likely be close to, or better than ebay.
    Nothing wrong with ebay though if you follow the above poster's advice.
    Yes, jewelry stores do negotiate on prices.
    Good luck.
    "Time is the school in which we learn. Time is the fire in which we burn."

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements