Explain Why Quartz Watches Can Be So Expensive?
Like Tree35Likes

Thread: Explain Why Quartz Watches Can Be So Expensive?

Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Explain Why Quartz Watches Can Be So Expensive?

Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to the world of watches in general, and haven't been able to figure out why quartz watches can cost so much. Before I started getting into watches I didn't understand how anyone could even spend upwards of $2000 on any watch (unless it contained gems or precious metals), but now I can appreciate the amazing workmanship and engineering that goes into nice mechanicals.

What I still can't seem to wrap my head around is some of the prices of quartz watches though. I know they usually cost a good amount less than their mechanical counterparts, but how does a quartz watch cost $2000? A G-shock can be had for a tenth of that that can do much more than most of the higher priced ones. I guess what I'm really asking is, being the watch novice I am, what makes a metal case, a nice face and hands, and a good bracelet cost upwards of a thousand dollars? Mechanical watches have dozens of tiny parts that have to be perfectly fitted together, but a quartz watch is just a very simple circuit that cost almost nothing. I understand that the other parts can cost a good bit, but in a mechanical, isn't the movement the majority of what you're paying for?

Thanks for educating me,

Nathan
    Omega, Steinhart, Seiko, Glycine, Tissot, Tag Heuer, Citizen, and a few others...

Re: Explain Why Quartz Watches Can Be So Expensive?

Because people pay it.

In luxury items, price is rarely correlated with cost.

Born in South Korea - Canadian citizen - Living in Philly Suburb

How much do you THINK is the price of a good mechanical movement?

2824-1 can be had probably for around $150 or so even in top grades with decent decoration but when you put it in Breitling, they charge you $3k for the watch.