WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Feel like quitting

28K views 246 replies 167 participants last post by  John MS 
#1 ·
I am fairly new to this hobby, less than a year, and almost feel like quitting. Tired of feeling like I am being looked down upon by “watch snobs”. Frustrating is an understatement.

#7 ·
Sounds more like you are adverse to forum mannerisms, cheekiness, and conduct. IMHO watchuseek is a mild mannered forum.

#8 ·
Looked down upon for what reason? The brands you like? The price of watches you can afford?

There are snobs in pretty much any hobby that involves material goods. Cars, bicycles, motorcycles, boats, fishing... That's why there are enthusiasts niches In most hobbies. Why this forum has dedicated areas for affordable watches, fashion watches, quartz watches, and several dedicated to particular brands. There's no right or wrong way to enjoy watches or watch collecting. Ignore the haters.

#12 · (Edited)
I don’t know if it’s a hobby. For some it may be, the ones that learn and understand the history and know in depth, the complications etc. For others, it’s an appreciation of fine luxurious things. And others yet it’s simply collecting, like stamps or coins. We are all different, with different lifestyles, different walks of life. Maybe for most, it’s dreaming, like a desire for a Ferrari that may never happen. We all can’t be lumped into any category.

#13 ·
There is more than likely something in your price range that you will like.
Never try to impress others, you have to buy what you like and can afford.
Never feel as though your watch is any less important to you than others around you based on what you paid for it.
A $29.00 Timex tells time just as well if not better than a $29000.00 Rolex. As long as you are happy that is all that matters.
Yes the watch world does have snobs however every hobby has them.
And never,never,never, go into debt to buy a watch.

#18 ·