First Serious Watch.... Suggestions?

Thread: First Serious Watch.... Suggestions?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

First Serious Watch.... Suggestions?

So, this is my first time posting on these boards even though I've been reading them for the past several weeks trying to do some research. I decided to see if anyone might be able to offer me some advice. Basically, I'm looking to buy my first serious watch. At least serious for me. I've budgeted myself about $1500 and I've been looking around for a few weeks now. So far two watches have jumped out at me a bit.
    The first is the Seiko Velatura Kinetic Direct Drive (this is a picture from another post)

The second (and currently the one I'm leaning towards) is the Hamilton Jazzmaster Chrono Auto (picture off of another thread with some good pictures)

With the Hamilton I'm not sure if I'd go for the light or dark face yet but I'd probably end up getting it on a bracelet to start and then buying a strap so that I could switch it up every so often.

So, any comments on the two watches I've mentioned? Movement, reliability, bang for buck, etc.
    Also, any suggestions for a nice watch that would fit my budget?

Re: First Serious Watch.... Suggestions?

I think that Hamilton is stunning. Also in your range would be a nice preowned speedmaster pro. Its a very historic, classy and sporty watch.

My Collection --> Click Here

Born in South Korea - Canadian citizen - Living in Philly Suburb

Quote Originally Posted by Kyle L View Post
    I think that Hamilton is stunning. Also in your range would be a nice preowned speedmaster pro. Its a very historic, classy and sporty watch.
    I second Speedy. These are on many people's MUST HAVE for a reason.

Only issues would be:
    1. Is it ok to not have date on your watch. - Me, if it is going to be my main watch, then I want to have date.