First watch purchase guidance

Thread: First watch purchase guidance

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

First watch purchase guidance

I recently ran across this site and it seems to be a wealth of information. I normally do not wear a wrist watch, but have grown tired of digging in my pockets for my cell phone. I have been browsing the internet for several months trying to narrow down my choices, but have had a hard time. I am looking for a quality watch with a max price of $600.
    Luminox is a brand I have somewhat thought about purchasing, but I really don't know much about watches. I suppose the styles that I like would be considered tactical and diver's. Chronographs are nice as well.
    I need something for everyday use, and something that is very durable. The one thing I do want is a watch that is somewhat unique meaning it's not commonly on display at the local shopping mall. Luminox happened to fullfill some of those requirements, but I really don't know if they are good or bad. Then, when I discovered this site, I saw that there are a whole lot of other brands of watches that I like. Some that I remember off the top of my head are Traser, red army, special ops, and many others I can't remember. I really like the appearance of some of what special ops has to offer, but I am concerned about the quality. I don't want some over priced watch that looks good, but is built with cheap components. I emailed them about where their watches are made and I kind of got that feeling that they might have some crappy chinese made parts in them.
    Seiko seems to make something for everyone's taste and they give me the impression that they are a great bang for the buck. The only thing that has kept me from purchasing one is that they are available just about anywhere, but considering I feel I can't go wrong with one I will leave that option open.
    Anyway, if anyone can help me out somehow it would be greatly appreciated.
    thanks,
    -V